History log of /linux-master/tools/perf/util/rwsem.c
Revision Date Author Comments
# fb71c86c 03-Sep-2019 Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

perf tools: Remove util.h from where it is not needed

Check that it is not needed and remove, fixing up some fallout for
places where it was only serving to get something else.

Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-9h6dg6lsqe2usyqjh5rrues4@git.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>


# 0a7c74ea 04-Apr-2017 Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

perf tools: Provide mutex wrappers for pthreads rwlocks

Andi reported a performance drop in single threaded perf tools such as
'perf script' due to the growing number of locks being put in place to
allow for multithreaded tools, so wrap the POSIX threads rwlock routines
with the names used for such kinds of locks in the Linux kernel and then
allow for tools to ask for those locks to be used or not.

I.e. a tool may have a multithreaded phase and then switch to single
threaded, like the upcoming patches for the synthesizing of
PERF_RECORD_{FORK,MMAP,etc} for pre-existing processes to then switch to
single threaded mode in 'perf top'.

The init routines will not be conditional, this way starting as single
threaded to then move to multi threaded mode should be possible.

Reported-by: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170404161739.GH12903@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>